Uncategorized

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Gentlemen, welcome to fight club.

First rule of fight club is: you do not talk about fight club. 

The second rule of fight club is: you do not talk about fight club. 

The third rule: someone yells stop, goes limp, or taps out, the fight is over.

The fourth rule: only two guys to a fight.

The fifth rule: one fight at a time.

The sixth rule: no shirts no shoes.

The seventh rule: fights will go on for as long as they have to.

The eighth and final rule: if this is your first night at fight club, you have to fight.

 

For quite some time, I’ve vacillated with doing a post for this book. It’s very hard to write about; for one, there is no way to talk about the plot without giving anything away, and for another, when people ask you what that book you’re reading is about, and you say, “The first rule of fight club is you do not talk about fight club,” you tend to get annoyed or strange looks. But I’ve found that as time went on, I fell more and more in love with it, and just had to share.

I cannot tell you what it is actually about, as I’ve just said, but I can tell you this: This book is absolutely beautiful. Seven out of five stars. If you have the time, or if you don’t have the time but are looking for something to read regardless, I recommend Fight Club. Wonderfully written, with big ideas and amazing imagery, this book will probably rock your world. I, for one, absolutely loved it. And coming from someone who had already seen the movie, and therefore knew what was going to happen, I found that it still drew me in to the point where I got to the end and thought, “Didn’t I just start this?”

(This is not to say see the movie first; I think that depends on the person, and I do not necessarily recommend it. But if you haven’t already seen the movie, read the book, see the movie, and then go back and reread the book. There’s a lot that people miss when they’re just reading it to find out what happens, and there’s a lot of stuff written into the book that you don’t think about unless you know what to look for. Also, while the movie is also very, very good, and I fully recommend it, don’t disregard the book just because you see the movie. The book has so much more to it than the movie allows for, and there are differences in both, especially toward the end, that create a different atmosphere within the story. So if you’re going to watch the movie, also read the book, and vise verse.)

One of the things I loved about the book was, as always, the characters (which I won’t touch on in fear of giving away something vital), but I think the thing I loved most was the narrative. It was very easy to get lost in, easy to absorb yourself into and fully encapsulated the feeling of the story and the exhaustion the main character is under, as well as things that crop up later in the narrative. And, since I had already known what was going to happen, I got the chance to look for things within the narrative that signified the Big Event, and was able to pinpoint some things that I haven’t seen yet in any other book, and that was really cool, or at least that I thought was really cool (I’m including two of them at the end of this post, so if you do not want to see them, you have been warned).

As I said, this book is absolutely fantastic. But you should be warned: as the title states, and as the rules above state, this book is extremely violent and fairly graphic. If you cannot handle that, wait a few years, give it some time, and then come back to it. It is one of those books that I truly believe everyone should read at least once in their lifetime.

 

 

(And the two things I thought were really cool about the narrative and felt the need to share: 1) the main character is never given an actual name, and 2) the main character never actually says anything: everything he says is a part of the narrative, so it all blends together rather nicely. Now, this is as far as I can remember within the book, since it’s been a couple months since reading it, but at the time, I thought those two things were really interesting (and I still think they’re really interesting), especially given the nature of the book and the idea(s) behind it.)

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 12.55.14 AM

