action, adventure, Caution: May not be appropriate for those under 13, fantasy, romance, Supernatural

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

This book is essentially about a girl named Feyre, who is out hunting one day in order to provide for her family, when she kills a wolf. As punishment, she must go to Prythian (the land of the fey), where she will live out the remainder of her days or die. However, something much darker and more sinister is afoot, plaguing Prythian and threatening the human world. Will she be able to figure it out in time?

I really liked this book, though I do have to warn you: my summary does not include the romance aspect, mostly because it’s hard to put it in without spoiling anything (I think). This book is very much Cupid and Psyche meets Beauty and the Beast, and it is very well done. A fast read with easily enjoyable characters–even the villain (though I would have hated her as a person (and do), I willingly and openly admit she is a great villain and a well written character).

My favorite part of the book is, as always, the characters. They’re fantastically well written, well rounded, and generally awesome characters. Feyre herself is a badass, remeniscent of Katniss but much more in touch with her emotions, and much more human–made even more obvious by her fey counterparts. You really do get to watch her develope, become more in touch with herself, and because of that (but also because of who she is in general) it is very easy to relate to her as a person (though not so much the situation. That’s a bit hard to relate to, considering it involves the fey and mystical creatures and such). There’s also Lucien (who was possibly my favorite character just because of his sass alone, but also because he’s sweet in a non showy way, which I liked), Tamlin (he’s amazing, and I liked him almost off the bat, and while he’s not like Lucien, he’s still up there with my favorites), ad Rhysand (whose characterization I loved in the weirdest way, because he’s incredibly selfish and sometimes (most of the time) cruel, but who is one of those people who protects their own, and like Lucien, you don’t see his soft side (though in Rhys’s case, you almost never see his soft side), all of whom I loved. There were other more minor characters who were awesome, like the sisters (I’m not spoiling anything, but needless to say I loved almost all the characters). And then there was the big bad herself, but I’m not spoiling anything. Like I said, she’s a despicable person, and I’d hate her I’m real life, but an excellent character.

I also loved the world that Maas created. It’s wonderfully detailed, and I found myself longing to actually go to the Spring Court and the village at the beginning, though there were definitely places I’m glad don’t exisr. It was incredibly easy to lose myself within the pages.

The one thing I will say, though, is that at some point the book lags. It picks back up fairly quickly, so don’t give up on it, but there’s a period where nothing happens, and then suddenly (BAM!) everything happens. But during that slow period, don’t put it down. Just keep reading. It gets really good.

I recommend this book for people older than 13. There is drinking (fairy wine, but still), and mention of sex, though none of it is exclusive, and they’re very short scenes. There is fair amount of violence, and at points it gets pretty disturbing. I will also say that while I loved this book, I would classify it as a teen novel. It is definitely geared toward teenagers, though I know some people like those kinds of books even when they’re older (no shame. I totally understand that, some of them are pretty awesome), and if you’re one of those people and looking for something to read, definitely pick up this book.

