romance

What Goes on Tour by Claire Boston

This book is about a writer named Libby, who goes on a book signing tour, during which she meets Adrian, AKA rock star Kent, and ends up taking care of his niece.

Let me just start by saying this was definitely a guilty pleasure book. I was originally not going to read it, and was saving it for when I needed a book late at night but didn’t want anything heavy. This was the perfect solution. It was heart-warming, and lovely, but it didn’t weigh on my mind when I wasn’t reading it.

That being said, I did enjoy the book. It just wasn’t a I-have-to-find-out-this-second-what-happens kind of book.

There were aspects that I really liked. I liked Libby; she was a fun, interesting character, who let her insecurities eat away at her, but who was still strong. Her point of view was pretty interesting as well, since it wasn’t just about the romance aspect, but also about her friendship with Kate. (Speaking of…) I really loved his niece, Kate. She and George (Adrian’s manager) were by far my favorite characters. Kate was cute and adorable, and she made me laugh most of the time (the rest of the time I was thinking, Oh God, baby it’s okay. You’re going to be okay). George was just an all around great character; he was originally introduce as Adrian’s manager, but it is clear from the start that he really cares about Adrian and Kate.I can’t say that I felt anything significant for Adrian; I definitely liked him; but I also thought he was a total idiot and at times even came close to hating him. At the same time, though, I never really blamed him for anything that happened in the book, mostly because of his past (no spoilers!!! But I gave everything he did in the book some serious thought before posting this, and why he would do some of the things he does, and it sort of made sense to me. Still made me a little upset with him. But it made sense). I really loved his niece, Kate. She and George (Adrian’s manager) were by far my favorite characters. Kate was cute and adorable, and she made me laugh most of the time (the rest of the time I was thinking, Oh God, baby it’s okay. You’re going to be okay). George was just an all around great character; he was originally introduce as Adrian’s manager, but it is clear from the start that he really cares about Adrian and Kate.

I’d have to say, though, the best part was the ending. I didn’t much care for the beginning of the book (although it captured my interest enough to get me curious, it wasn’t as giggle/gasp inducing as the last 100 or so pages), and the writing itself hit me as kind of plain, which happened to work in favor of the text (what I mean is that it allowed the story itself to develop through the characters rather than having very flowery or beautiful writing that would work in a different novel; I don’t think it would have made the book better, although it may have been more fun to read). Overall, I have to say I wasn’t too impressed, although the story itself made me smile.

I’m not spoiling anything here. If at any point you read something about this that interested you, either here, the back of the book, or another review, by all means go ahead and read it. It didn’t enrapture me, although I did enjoy it as a guilty pleasure novel. I would say if you like this kind of romance novel (rock stars and authors), then I say go for it. I do not have many warnings, except to say that there might be some colorful language (I can’t remember for certain if there actually is any, but just in case), and that it probably won’t be a book you put down and think about the entire day. Once you start, it is certainly easy to continue reading; and it’s easy to pick back up. But it doesn’t consume your thoughts the way Charlie St. Cloud might have (if that was a book you liked. I certainly did).

