action, romance

Gravity by Melissa West

At its most basic, Gravity is about a girl named Ari, who has to try to prevent a war between two races: the humans, and the Ancients, with the help of her friends, Law and Gretchen, and a boy named Jackson Locke, who is actually more than just a boy.

I…guess I liked this book. It was enjoyable, and entertaining, but it didn’t keep my attention. I didn’t care if I was reading it or a different book, and it really wasn’t anything overly special. It was good, don’t get me wrong; I found that I liked some of the characters, but it was very predictable. At no point was I surprised by what happened throughout the novel. There were no shocking twists. It simply…was.

I think one of the issues I had with the book was that I didn’t love the main character, which is kind of an issue considering it’s told in the first person. In fact, now that I’m thinking back, I didn’t love any of the characters. I guess I sort of liked Jackson…but the truth is, I didn’t really care. I read the book purely for enjoyment, and I kept reading because I thought that it would get more addicting, that I would start to love the characters, or the plot, or just…something about the book that would keep my interest. But nothing did. I just kept reading, and reading, but nothing changed. I still didn’t love the book. And by the end of it, the characters just started to annoy me. It was like they had no real emotions, or at least not tangible ones. Like, they were all so black and white, that even when their emotions did show, I didn’t care, or it didn’t even matter to me. And it really bothered me that they thought they had to be strong the entire time; and it wasn’t even an actual thought, they just refused to show any emotion. Even when they were alone, there was no emotion. It was like they were robots, for the entire book.

I found myself actually skipping paragraphs. I would be reading the dialogue, and then Ari would start to talk about something in her prose, and I would just skim through it, not even paying attention, because none of it interested me. And I know that that is awful, and that you’re supposed to read the entire book before deciding that you don’t like it, but I couldn’t read those paragraphs. It just bored me so much.

I do not mean to say the book was bad, it just didn’t hold my interest. I finished it, so I must have enjoyed it on some level, but I never felt any attachment to it. It wasn’t a page turner. And I don’t think that I’m going to read the sequel; it just doesn’t seem worth it.

For those still interested, the book is appropriate for any age (there weren’t any bad language, or scenes that were inappropriate). I do not recommend this to anyone looking for something that will keep them invested. But if you’re looking for an in-between book, this one works just fine.

