Caution: May not be appropriate for those under 13, romance, tragic

More Than This by Jay McLean

This book is about a girl named Mikayla, who catches her boyfriend cheating on her with her best friend. Then she met Jake. Jake, who saw everything, the whole spectacle, and decided that she needed cheering up. Only, that’s not the end to their night, which only ends in tragedy.
I loved this book. Well, more like the books following it. This one didn’t capture me as much, but at no fault of the book’s. The other two (More Than Her and More Than Him) just happened to be better and more enthralling. I did, however, really enjoy this book, and could not put it down.
At its base, this book is a simple love story. There’s nothing overly special about it; it’s just a romance novel. And that’s actually fairly accurate throughout the book; it’s just a romance novel. But there was something about the characters that made you want them to be okay, even if some of it was a bit…strange, to say the least. It was very unconventional, and at points I didn’t entirely understand why the characters were acting the way they were acting (I’m trying not to spoil anything).
I really liked Micky. Throughout the book, she struggles with loss, and acceptance, and not leaning too hard on others, but at the same time, knowing when to accept help. I had a bit of a love/hate relationship with Jake, mostly because I wanted to smack him and tell him he was being an idiot at times, although even that wasn’t entirely “hate.” Really, I just got a little frustrated with him. The characters I fell in love with, though, were Lucy, Logan, Cam, Heidi, and Dylan, their friends. They were all so warm, and supportive, and just genuine characters, not to mention absolutely hilarious.
Like I said, though, the other two books in the series (so far) have been my favorite. The second book is Logan’s story, with the third being a continuation of the story, and I just thought it was better. I couldn’t put it down, and actually finished reading the second one night, and the third the next. It might have had a lot to do with the fact that it’s a more haunting story; Logan has a lot of problems to work out, as does Amanda, and it made it seem less like “just a romance”, and more like I was reading their actual lives. It also made the story more interesting, and I was able to get more of an emotional reaction from reading their two points of view than I did in the first book. Don’t get me wrong, the first one was still sad and amazingly beautiful; the second and third were just…more.
I should warn you: there is a lot of cussing, drinking, anxiety, social issues, mental issues, abuse, and it is graphic both in language (as in characters speaking) and in image (everything else, pretty much). The book doesn’t focus on the physical part of the relationship as much as the romance and chemistry and mental issues, but it is still present, still there.
I would say this, though: to anyone looking for a romance, pick up this series. But start at the first. Don’t think just because I didn’t like it as much as the others that it wasn’t good. It was. Don’t read the books out of order!

From More Than This:

*Mikayla*
In one night my fairytale ended. Or it may have begun. This is my story of friendship and love, heartbreak and desire, and the strength to show weakness.
*Jake*
One night I met a girl. A sad and broken girl, but one more beautiful than any other. She laughed through her sadness, while I loved through her heartbreak.
*This is our story of a maybe ever after.*
He was right. It made no difference whether it was six months or six years. I couldn’t undo what had been done. I couldn’t change the future. I couldn’t even predict it. It was one night. One night when everything changed. It was so much more than just the betrayal. It was the Tragedy. The Deaths. The Murders. But it was also that feeling. The feeling of falling.

For those interested, this is from More Than  Her:

“For every action there is an equal or opposite reaction.”

For every choice you make there are rewards, or there are consequences. It was my choice to walk away the first time.

And my choice to chase her the second.

But sometimes you don’t get a choice,

and all you get are the consequences.

 

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength,

while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”

Unless that someone is Logan Matthews.

Because loving him didn’t give me

the strength to walk away.

It didn’t give me the courage to fight for him.

And when it was over, all it gave me was a broken heart.

