Caution: May not be appropriate for those under 13, Graphic Novels/Comic Books

The Fifth Beatle: The Brian Epstein Story by Vivek Tiwary (writer), Andrew C. Robinson (artist), and Kyle Baker (cartoonist)

This book (graphic novel) was absolutely amazing. I loved it. It follows the story of Brian Epstein (as you can tell from the title), who managed the Beatles and who Paul McCartney called, “The Fifth Beatle”. I have nothing bad to say about this, and so I will keep it very brief: the art was amazing, the writing was fabulous, and the story and characters were simply wonderful. A friend recommended it to me, and I was flipping through the pages to see if I would like it or not, and I fell in love with the art. So I decided to read it, and then I fell in love with the way the story was told. It was (simply put) beautiful. I don’t know how else to describe it. Just, absolutely, positively, 100% beautiful.

I would not recommend this for anyone who doesn’t understand drug abuse. It’s a huge part of the story, as it played a huge role in Brian Epstein’s life. I would also say that if you are homophobic, this probably isn’t the best read for you. I do, however, recommend this for anyone who knew who Brian was, or loves the Beatles, or is looking for a graphic novel with fantastic art and a great story. I would definitely recommend this to whoever will read it.

