Uncategorized

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I’m not going to describe the summary to you; if you’ve seen the movie but haven’t already read the book, you know what it’s about. If you’ve never seen the movie, but heard of it, you have a vague sense that it’s about a guy named Gatsby. If you haven’t seen the movie, read the book, or heard anything about it, don’t read the summary on the back; just start the book. Trust me, it’s worth it.

I’d heard some things about it before reading it, but had always tuned out when the plot was being discussed, because I knew I’d be reading it for school, and I didn’t want it to be spoiled for me. I asked the people who had seen the movie already not to give me any spoilers, and my friends who had already read the book to not tell me anything. I wanted to be completely shocked at the plot twists, I wanted to thoroughly enjoy each character ark, and I wanted to fall in love with the characters, and sometimes even hate the characters (when I say sometimes…).

Speaking of characters I loved, I absolutely loved Gatsby. He may have actually been the only character, aside from Nick (the narrator), that I actually liked throughout the novel, and never felt disenchanted with him. He’s a cool character, but more than that, I empathized with him, and when I wasn’t sympathetic with him, I was thinking, “Oh, you poor old sport.” There were times  when a character in the novel was trash talking him, and I’d actually yell at the book, “Don’t you dare say that about Gatsby!!!” I’m pretty sure some of my friends thought I was a little crazy after that. (Also, and a little on a side note, I could definitely understand the casting for Gatsby in the movie. Leo was the perfect person to play the role of Gatsby, and I won’t let anyone convince me otherwise. While I haven’t seen the movie yet (and I will, it’s on my To-Do List), when Fitzgerald described Gatsby, I had looked up, turned to my friend, and said, “He literally just described Leo.” Perfect casting on that part; well done movie crew).

I also really liked the vivid imagery and word choices Fitzgerald used throughout the novel. For example, when Fitzgerald was describing one of the parties in the novel, he used very drunken imagery and wording, while at the same time making it very colorful and musical. It blended very well together to create this amazing image of one of Gatsby’s parties.

I would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 12 or 13. It has alcohol, excessive drinking, sexual relations, and other aspects that I dare not mention for fear of ruining it for anyone who has not yet read the book or seen the movie. I do, however, think that it is a book that you should read at least once in your lifetime. It is absolutely fantastic, and if you’re not going to read it in school anytime soon, pick it up and turn to the first page. I’m 99.9% positive that you’ll enjoy it as much as I did.

Unknown-2

