Uncategorized

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

I can’t give a full summary of this book. It’s basically a bunch of mini stories, which are all based off of a cycle of reincarnation, starting with Adam Ewing, and ending with Zachary.

I really liked this book. Originally, when I first started reading it, I didn’t enjoy it as much. The book opens with Adam Ewing’s journal, and it is a little hard to get through at first. The language in it is a little harder to understand, and it’s a little dense, not to mention that in the beginning, Adam is kind of boring. But I wanted to know what happened, so I kept reading, and became enraptured in it, and fell in love with it.

I love the characters; some of them are absolutely hilarious, and others are cool, or adventurous. Each character has something new and exciting to offer, every one of them is different. And yet, they were all reincarnations of each other, and all similar in some way, whether in their experiences or in a part of their personality. That was another thing I liked, the way that the Mitchell included the reincarnation. It wasn’t a hit to the face, but instead it was really subtle, and it drew me in.

When I first started reading Cloud Atlas, my friend told me that one of the things she thought was really cool was the evolution in the language. And I have to agree with her; the way Mitchell made the English language grow was really amazing. It also distinguished time periods, and made it easy to remember which character’s story you were reading at any given moment.

I also liked how not every story ended happily. (I’m not giving away which ones, or why they weren’t particularly happy endings, because I don’t want to spoil it. But that was one of the major reasons I liked the book: because not every story was predictable.)

I can’t say that there was anything I didn’t like about this book. If anything, it was dense at times and a little hard to get through, and it definitely took me a while to read. But it also makes you want to keep reading, to keep turning the page, to find out what’s next for these characters. You just want to keep reading. And that’s what makes a book truly amazing: that no matter what happens in the book, you want to know what happens next.

I do not recommend this book for anyone under the age of 13. It does have sex (not explicit, but it does talk about sex), and a lot of violence, but mostly I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone under the age of 13 because some of the language is a little harder to understand. I would, however, recommend that you do read this book, sometime in your life, and read it all the way until the end. You won’t be disappointed.

Unknown-8

