action, adventure

Proxy by Alex London

Sorry its been so long, but I’ve been so caught up in school that I haven’t really had time to read. So when I finally had some time to relax, I picked up this book.

Summary: Knox was fortunate enough to be born into a wealthy family, and to have everything he ever wanted, including Syd, the proxy who takes all his punishments for him. So when Knox steals and then crashes a car, killing its other occupant, it is Syd who is branded and given the death sentence. But what happens when a proxy escapes his punishment? And what does the strange birthmark behind Syd’s ear mean, and what does it have to do with the Rebooters, a terrorist group whose goal is to shut down the system?

This book is appropriate for anyone over the age of 10. It’s a bit dark, but in general there was nothing inappropriate or overly adult.

To be completely honest, I have some mixed feelings about this book. I definitely liked it, but there were moments that I couldn’t get entirely into, or when I couldn’t understand why one of the characters was even in the book, or even when I wanted to put it down and stop reading it. There were moments when I thought Knox was pathetic and I wanted to reach into the  book and shake him, but there were also moments when I loved his character. I mean, in the same situation, I would probably react the same way (and if you want to know what I’m talking about, read the book. I’m not spoiling anything 😉 ), but that didn’t make me sympathize with him. It just made me view him as weak and pathetic. But there were those other times when he was so cool, and it really threw me for a loop. It wasn’t that I was made that his character was dynamic, but he wasn’t even dynamic in a good way. It was like he was so overly developed that he really should have just been two characters, but at the same time, he was not developed enough. I felt like London spent too much of the book focusing on getting the entire story into a single book that he didn’t have time to properly develop Knox’s character.

Another thing that gave me mixed feelings was the ending. Like I said earlier, I won’t spoil anything, but the ending left me unfulfilled, like it wasn’t enough of an ending to end a single book. I don’t know if the author plans on writing a sequel, and I think that the book might be better as a series than as a single book, but this ending wasn’t enough of a conclusion to end the book.

Also, I’m just not attached to it. While I was reading it, I wanted to keep reading it. I wanted to know what happens. But now that I’m finished, I just want to pick up another book and read something else. I’m not caught up in it, even though I just finished it.

(Just as a side thought, I was extremely upset by how they had the Jewish religion as the religion of the terrorists; I know that the terrorists were fighting for a good cause and everything, but it made me really upset thinking that this was how the author decided to portray the terrorists: as Jews. I’m not going to elaborate further, because I can’t find the words at the moment, but it was something that really bothered me.)

But on the other hand, I really liked the world that London created. It was a version of Earth, set far into the future, and it was an extremely dark world. But he really developed it. It was so realistic, like it could actually happen. It wasn’t hard to suspend my disbelief and think that this was actually Earth’s future; it wasn’t exactly a happy thought, considering how dark and terrible it was. But the London describes it really well, and (despite the fact about the terrorists mentioned above) it made me really enjoy the book.

I also really liked the characters Syd and Marie. Syd was just an overall enjoyable character, who I couldn’t help but liking. He’s very strong, and just a little arrogant, and he’s so similar to Knox but London took a lot more time to go into his character. At no point during the novel did I find myself disliking him. And Marie: she’s the strongest, and one of the coolest characters in the entire novel. She’s extremely dynamic, and in the beginning, she kind of pissed me off, because her character was so flat and dull, not to mention obnoxious. But as the book digressed, she just kept on getting cooler and cooler, and by the end of the novel, I couldn’t help but like her. She’s just such a fierce and wicked (as Ron would say) character.

While I’m on the subject of characters, I feel like this definitely should have been a series, if only so that the author could have elaborated on so many good characters. Like I said earlier, Knox could definitely have been portrayed better over a longer series. But I’m not just thinking in terms of main characters; I would have loved to know more about Knox’s dad. He was definitely meant to play the villain role, but he didn’t have enough of a role for me to ever properly hate him. He also never felt like much of a villain. The entire time I was reading, I never felt like he was the bad guy. He was just there. I wish that London would have expanded his character more, and had given him a little more time to grow. He had the potential to be a really cool character, but London didn’t give him any space to be a cool character.

Overall, I still have mixed feelings about this book. I know it seems like I didn’t like it, but I did. Only, I didn’t. (Like I said, mixed feelings). I do think that it was an interesting story, and that the world itself was really absorbing. I recommend it for anyone who will read it, and I’ll also say to make your own conclusions on whether or not you like the book. You may choose to like it or dislike it, or you may end up like me, with mixed feelings. But I definitely recommend you read it.

51pPoq6ilNL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_

