action, adventure, romance

Legend by Marie Lu

Summary: Day is a notorious criminal, known for his acts against the Republic. All her life, June has heard the stories, of how dangerous he is and how skilled. And she always listened to them. But on the night that her brother is murdered, June vows revenge on Day. And the only way to do that is to catch him.

I definitely recommend this book. It was a fast read, a for-sure page turner. Not like The Hunger Games or Divergent, where I became emotionally attached to almost all the characters (even if that emotion was negative), but I’m already looking forward to continuing the series, and I’m desperate to know what happens next.

The first thing to note about the book is that the summary above is not entirely accurate. It’s the basic premiss, but it’s not the full story. Which was kind of what I was going for, since I didn’t want to give any of it away.

The second thing was that I was hooked on the first page. I started this book not expecting much (I’ve been kind of in a reading slump, and haven’t been reading as much as I normally do, mostly because I can’t find a book that I like and will continue reading. It’s been hard), and after page three I couldn’t put it down. I love Day and June, and their story, especially since it starts out with two completely different sides of the story. He’s a wanted criminal for doing acts against the Republic (which is the futuristic government in LA), and she’s a Republic prodigy, someone who dreams of becoming one of its soldiers. They’re complete and total opposites, and yet, at the same time, they were exactly alike. And I loved that. (And sometimes it was even a little funny). I also loved the other characters, like Tess, though I didn’t form any real attachment to some of them (and that might be because I literally read it in a day). And honestly, I think that’s what made the difference.

There were two things I did not like about this book. Technically just one, because I can’t decide if I like one of them or not. The first was that parts of it were overly cheesy (or predictable, though not all of it, or I probably wouldn’t have kept reading), and I’m being a little too indecisive on whether it was a good cheesy or a bad cheesy (and if you watch corny romance movies, you know what I mean. If you don’t then I can’t help you). I couldn’t tell if it was a little too typical, or just the right amount for me to not care. Like in an action movie, where there’s a good-looking guy and a good-looking girl, and you think to yourself at the beginning of the movie, they’re going to get together. There’s going to be this kissing scene. And there is. And sometimes it works out. That kind of cheesy. (Where there’s just enough romance to call it a slight romance, but not enough to actually call it romantic). That’s the feeling I got off of some parts of this book. The second thing I didn’t like was that, like I said earlier, I didn’t form any real connections with the characters. I didn’t feel anything for them. I just didn’t care. It wasn’t like with Day or June, where if something happened to them I would actually feel something, but with some of the other characters there was just…nothing. I felt nothing. Not even a little anger, although I guess I felt a little sadness sometimes but that was pretty much it.

However, I really did like it. (The critiques probably aren’t really convincing that I did, but just for the record, I did like this book). It wasn’t a Hunger Games, or a David Levithan novel (and trust me, it wasn’t a John Green either), or anything like that, but I did enjoy it. I definitely couldn’t put it down (I started it in the morning and finished it that night), and it may not have been an amazing-throw-your-hands-in-the-air-with-confetti book (because some books are just that amazing), but it was definitely a good one. And I’m definitely looking forward to the next one. 🙂

61XQ5F4K1pL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

