romance

How They Met and Other Stories by David Levithan

This may not be appropriate for anyone 12 and under. There is mention of sex and alcohol, but otherwise it’s fairly appropriate.

Let me start by saying that I can’t provide a summary for this book. There is no basic plot line for the entire thing; it is a series of seriously cute short love stories. And they were really REALLY cute, ranging from the just starting out couple, to the old couple. It’s cute like watching an older couple on the street holding hands. If you know what I’m talking about, then you’ll get it. If you don’t, then read the short stories, and then you’ll understand.

I have to give David Levithan a round of applause. He’s managed to write yet another amazing book, or, in this case, short stories. They were absolutely amazing, some loving and adorable, others heartbreaking. I think I cried during one of them, or at least started to, but I can’t really remember. I do, however, remember practically jumping up and down because one of them was so cute. I just absolutely loved them. I think my favorite part of this compilation  was that there is a story for everyone: same-sex love stories, different sex love stories, long time relationships, new break-ups, unrequited crushes, that one awkward prom night, David Levithan covered almost all the bases. And even the ones I couldn’t relate to I loved, mostly because of the stories themselves, or because I wanted to get to the next one and then got to a really good part in the story that made me love it. Either way, I fell in love with these short stories. I already know that this is not going to be one of those books that I’ll read once and put it on a shelf, maybe never to be read again. I’m definitely reading this again. It was that good

If you like this, I recommend Nick and Nora’s Infinite PlaylistDash and Lily’s Book of DaresWIll Grayson Will Grayson, and Every Day, all by (co-author or only author) David Levithan.

31qpC-G99XL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

