adventure, romance

Tempest (The Tempest Trilogy) by Julie Cross

Summary: Jackson’s life has been fairly normal. Well, as normal a life as a time traveling college student can get. But when Jackson sees mysterious men break into his girlfriend, Holly’s, dorm room and shoot her, he accidentally travels back in time. The icing on the cake? He’s stuck two years in the past.

I do not recommend this book for anyone 11 years or younger; there is mention of sex and alcohol, as well as violence, cuss words, and drugs (not to get people high, but to make them pass out), but for the most part it’s fairly tame.

I really really liked this book. At first I was skeptical as to it being a good book, and not really boring half the time, but it wasn’t. It was seriously amazing, and I just couldn’t put it down. Jackson’s point of view is amazing, and Cross’s way of explaining time travel is super interesting. I had to throw out everything that I thought about time travel, all those movies and books before that featured it. I had to completely stop thinking about traveling through time as Back to the Future and Heroes described it, and had to think of it in the way that Jackson time travels. Which, at first, was a little hard. But once I got into the book a little more, I got so absorbed in it that I completely forgot to think of time travel as anything but Cross’s way. There were also parts that made me laugh, and parts that definitely made me feel like I wanted to cry, but for the most part I just wanted to keep reading, to know what happens to Jackson next, and whether or not he’s going to be able to save the Holly that got shot. And the more I read, the more I wanted to read, and the more absorbed in the story I got.

The only disappointment I had with the book, was that I wish it was longer (the next book can’t come out soon enough), and maybe a little more intense. Like, when I think of a great book, one of the components, yes, is that I can’t put it down. The other is that it’s intense enough that not only do I want to keep reading, but when I put it down I keep thinking about it, and when I finish I can’t read anything else for at least a day because I’m still absorbed in that book, and I can’t even think about picking something else up. While I did greatly enjoy this book, I was able to move on almost immediately after I finished it. It was just all too easy to pick up another book and start reading.

Still, I did really like it, wanted it to keep going and not stop, and I’m looking forward to the next book.

515pDxVYGdL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

