Uncategorized

Don’t Turn Around by Michelle Gagnon

Summary: Noa is a sixteen-year old hacker who escaped the system and is living off the grid. That is, until she woke up on an operating table. With no memory of what happened, she escapes, only to find out that the people who had put her there are not done with her.

Peter’s had a rough few days. He found a file in his father’s office labeled AMRF, and was then attacked by a bunch of guys in suites, who took his laptop. He enlists Noa’s help in uncovering what is AMRF, and what they’re trying to hide. However, they’re about to find out that Noa is the key to something big, and the people after her will do anything to get their hands on it.

I recommend this book for anyone over the age of ten. There is a violence, and some terms that small children should not hear. Other than that, I’m pretty sure it’s okay.

This book was okay. It gripped me enough that I wanted to continue reading, and to find out what was happening. It also made me care about the characters; Peter is so sweet and smart, and Noa is just super cunning and amazing. Also, the language/writing was good. But I didn’t get nervous while reading the book, didn’t get that pit in the middle of my stomach that screams, “Oh my god, oh my god” (if you’ve ever had that you know what I’m talking about. If not, then keep searching for a book that will do that to you). While reading it, I had this outward look to it. Normally I’m there with the characters, going through everything with them. Not with this book. I just couldn’t relate to them enough to put myself in their position, or even right next to them. The book itself (if you’re looking for something that you don’t want to get emotionally attached with at all) was pretty good, once I got over the fact that it wasn’t an extremely good book like I had been hoping it would be. And I guess that’s what made it a slight disappointment. I guess my hopes for it were just too high.

