Uncategorized

Undead by Kristy McKay

Summary: Bobby’s school trip is super boring. Things take a turn when the class stops for a bite to eat, and everyone gets off except Bobby and a boy named Smitty. When Bobby and Smitty are on the bus, their classmates become the undead, and begin to attack them. Things are about to get a lot more interesting.

I do not recommend this book for people who are serious about the zombie apocalypse, or who believe zombies are a real possibility. I also do not recommend this for anyone under the age of 13; there is mention (and very brief use) of alcohol, and many of the jokes are sexually oriented or sarcastic.

I’m not sure which category McKay intended for this book to be. If it was a horror or a thriller, she (for the most part) failed. While I was invested in the book and the characters, I wasn’t scared of the zombies or the situations they were in. I mean, it was a little gross, but come on. Gross doesn’t exactly rank high on what makes a horror or thriller. It was also way too predictable to keep me on my toes. It was more comedic than anything else. It was actually really funny. I couldn’t stop laughing. But it just wouldn’t work as any other category.

However, I did enjoy the book (though I wasn’t in love with it). The characters were funny, with the right sort of comebacks to keep you laughing. There were a lot of moments that were serious throughout the book, but Bobby’s narrative kept it light and funny. I definitely recommend reading it, but not in a serious way. I read it as a kind of joke, really, as a comedy. But it’s definitely worth giving it a try.

