Uncategorized

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Summary: Blue’s family are psychics, and she has always been told that she will kiss her true love, and then he will die. When she goes out on the night that the soon-to-be dead walk the corpse road with her aunt, she meets Gansey, or, more specifically, his spirit. Gansey is from Alionby Academy, an all boys school for the rich, which marks him as a Raven Boy, and therefore someone who Blue hates. But Blue can’t seem to stay away from Gansey and his fellow Raven Boys, nor their mysterious quest and their secrets.

I recommend this book for anyone over the age of 12. There is use of alcohol, violence, and gore, but it is otherwise appropriate.

Just in warning, if you decide to pick this book up and start to read it, you’re not going to get engrossed in it right away. It’s a slow going book at first, but give it a chance. It’s truly amazing. I don’t exactly know when I started to get invested in the characters, not wanting the predictions in the book to come true, or even when it started to be that I couldn’t stop reading, I just kept telling myself at one point, “Let me just finish the sentence, and then I’ll put it down. Just one more page and then I’ll stop reading.” Of course, I didn’t then, and even now I’m hoping that there’s a second book in the making (I already checked to see if there was already one, and sadly there wasn’t).

Maggie created this amazing world full of psychics and spells and magic. At one point, I felt a little like Alice lost in Wonderland, just because of how amazing the setting was. The characters are all spectacular, ranging from the bad boy rich kid to the shy guy in the corner, to the very eccentric Blue and the motherly Maura. Even just the Raven Boys (Gansey, Ronan, Adam, and Noah) were so diverse, so original that I couldn’t help but be amazed by them. Also, their quest for Glendower and the ley lines had me raptured; I didn’t want to stop reading about it.

