Uncategorized

Every Day by David Levithan

Summary: Have you ever wanted to escape your life, to be somebody else for a day? Ever imagined how that feels? A doesn’t have to imagine. Each day, A wakes up as  someone else, and lives out their lives for a day. When A wakes up as Justin, A thinks it’s going to be just like any other day, and that A will simply go through the motions of Justin’s life. That is, until A meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. For A, everything is about to change.

“I want to give her a good day. Just one good day. I have wandered for so long without any sense of purpose, and now this ephemeral purpose has been given me–it feels  like it has been given to me. I only have a day to give–so why can’t it be a good one? Why can’t it be a shared one? Why can’t I take the music of the moment and see how long it can last? The rules are erasable. I can take this. I can give this.”

I strongly recommend this book for anyone over the age of 12. There is violence, and mention of alcohol, as well as brief language, and mention of sex. But it is for sure a must read; I loved it, I loved it, I loved it!

This book was absolutely amazing. I couldn’t tear my eyes off of it for more than a few minutes, and even then I was wishing that I was still reading it. Even now, having finished, I wish there was more so that I wouldn’t have to stop seeing things through A’s eyes. While it was confusing for A not to have a gender, it was also refreshing. Because A doesn’t have a set gender, it was easier to picture A in a new body every chapter. It also made me think of it as staring out of my own eyes, like watching through a video camera almost. You’re seeing everything directly out of A’s eyes, seeing them as A sees them. There’s not a whole lot of the description of the outward appearance as there would be if it were written in third person (it’s in first person, in case you didn’t get that). Instead, Levithan wrote it so that you’re looking more at their inward self, more at A.

Levithan created an awe-inspiring main character when he created A. Not only is A thoughtful, and just overall a perfect person, A is also knowledgeable. Levithan really made me stop and think about this character, and what A was saying about the people around A, and the world we live in. Also, with Rhiannon, Levithan made a character who seems perfect, but also has human faults.

David Levithan is also the co-author of Nick and Nora’s Infinite PlaylistDash and Lilly’s Book of Dares, and Will Grayson Will Grayson. (all must reads)

