action, Graphic Novels/Comic Books

Kick-A** by Mark Millar and John Romita Jr.

Summary: Dave Lizewski has always loved comics. He likes the idea of superheroes, fighting to save innocent lives, and to stop the bad guys. He asks the question, “Why do you think nobody’s ever tried to be a superhero before?” He dreams about it, wants to find out why its so impossible. So, he makes himself a suit, dons the name “Kick-A**”, and goes out to fight crime. Even meets some fellow crime fighters. But soon, he finds out what the difference between him and the real superheroes are. And, that the world of defeating crime might be harder than he originally thought.

Okay, so you’re probably thinking, “Oh, dear god, not another comic book!” But trust me, this is worth reading. And anyways, comics are good.

You’ve probably heard of it already. It is a movie, in case you were wondering. Though, while the movie follows the same plot line, it’s details are definitely different. I think that I like the comic better, though it’s very hard to make that decision. It only won out by a small margin. The movie is amazing, and if you’ve already seen it, you should definitely read the comic book. And, vice versa. If you’ve read the comic, you should definitely see the movie (it’s on Netflix, in case anyone was wondering). And, if you haven’t seen the movie, or read the comic, you definitely need to do one of them. Unless you’re not into violence, and then I can’t really help you.

I definitely loved this comic book. I cringed, and I laughed (even though it’s gruesome, I thought some parts were definitely funny. Maybe I just have a sick sense of humor). The narrative was amazing, funny, and just totally fit the character. Dave is the perfect hero, maybe because he’s an ordinary, invisible person who goes out and actually does something to stop the bad guys while everyone else shuffles on by, maybe because he goes out to do the impossible. It all depends on what you’re definition of a hero is. And, while he did not inspire me to copy him (his adventure looked much too painful for me), I enjoyed reading/seeing everything through his eyes. There was no way that Millar and Romita could have changed main characters. It just wouldn’t have been the same.

This comic is definitely not okay for anyone who is under the age of 14 (in my opinion). Extreme violence, lots of blood, drugs, some nudity, and lots (I mean lots) of very colorful cursing.

