Uncategorized

1984 by George Orwell

So, it’s been a while since I last posted, and it’s mostly due to this book. It’s taken up most of my free time, but I finally finished it. Not that it was a bad book or anything, but I’ll get to that in a second. First of all, I should mention that I was originally going to read this book a few years ago, and I’m glad that I never got around to it, simply because I don’t think I would have enjoyed it as much. Right now, it’s a reading assignment for summer reading, but as far as summer reading goes, it’s a good book.

I’m sorry that I can’t provide a summary. I don’t really know how to put this book into a few sentences without ruining it for anyone who does decide to read it. The back of the book doesn’t even describe it, instead saying things like “prophetic”, “nightmarish”, and “haunting” (and not in the sense with ghosts and stuff). I can, however, say that while I did enjoy reading it, it was hard to get into. If you end up reading it, and get board within the first few minutes, you have the same problem that I had. Just know that it does get a lot better, to the point where, while I was still complaining about having summer reading, I had a hard time putting it down.

But, while I did enjoy the book, I had a hard time relating to Winston (the main character). I just couldn’t bring myself to care what was happening to him. Even though towards the end, I felt bad for him, but there was no gut wrenching, eyes pooling, need-to-put-the-book-down-beacuse-I’m-too-emotional reaction. And, to say the least, I’m glad for that. Because while sometimes a book needs to be super emotional, this one didn’t need to be, even though it would have been easier to get into the book if I had cared about Winston.

This book also has a lot of truth to it. If you like this book, I recommend reading the short story, “Teddy”, by J.D. Salinger (and if you don’t like the book, read “Teddy” anyways, because it’s just that amazing). They share a lot of the same wisdom (for example: how do you know what you’re seeing is real and not just something you made up in your head?).

I recommend this book for anyone 15+. I do not think it’s appropriate for anyone younger, though not because it contains inappropriate content (which it doesn’t). I just don’t think they’ll understand it as much, or that they’ll get board to easily. But I do think that you should at least try it (and to get through it), at least once in your lifetime. I just wish that maybe, while I’m glad I had to read it, it hadn’t been one of my summer reading books. I might have enjoyed it a little more.

