Uncategorized

Bear, Otter, and the Kid by TJ Klune

Summary: Bear has been taking care of the Kid since their mom abandoned them on Bear’s 18th birthday. That was three years ago, and things have finally calmed down. And then Otter (who was close with Bear, and left soon after his mom) comes back, and Bear’s life is flipped upside down. Especially with what happened between them right before Otter left. Will Bear ever be able to forgive him? And with Bear questioning himself and his sexuality, will he be able to take care of the Kid like he promised himself he would?

This book is not recommended for children. I’m not specifying age, because it all depends on the person, but this book contains sex, alcohol, the different views on gays, and a lot of cussing.

Let me just start out by answering the one question that you probably thought of first when reading the above summary: no, Bear, Otter, and the Kid are not their real names. They do have actual names, but I’ll leave that for you to find out in the book. And to answer the second question: yes, this is a book about two gay guys. But it’s not just about that. It’s about growing up, taking responsibility, learning who you are, and trying to fight for what you have. And it’s even more than that, but I don’t know how to fully put it into words. The narrative is funny, and strong, and works so well with Bear’s personality (it’s from his perspective). I laughed (hysterically) and I cried (hysterically), and I just couldn’t stop reading. Klune created an amazing page turner, even if it didn’t contain guns and swords. There were no boring parts to this book. At no point did I want to put it down. At no point did I want to stop reading. And that’s just not something you can say for a lot of books.

I absolutely, positively LOVED this book. The characters, the narrative, everything. I definitely recommend reading this book, and if you don’t, then you’re missing out on an AMAZING story.

